Book Review: We Were Liars

Rich kids? Private islands? Misery? Despair?

Yes please.

I suffered through being seventeenth on the hold list at the library to read this book. And I wasn’t…disappointed. No, I wasn’t disappointed. I just didn’t realize what I was getting into at first.

129d7332b7bb63a195f647f7937ef7f7

We Were Liars

  • Author: E. Lockhart
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Year: 2013
  • Shelved in: Teen fiction
  • Genre vibe: We’re not saying it’s ghosts but it’s ghosts, inspired, atmosphere, the thrill of summer
  • At a Glance: There is nothing wrong with the Sinclairs. Never has been, never will be. Cadence, her two cousins, and the friend of one who tags along are the Liars. They are inseparable, immortal. But nothing is ever what you think it is, apparently.

The Good Stuff

WRITING. WRITING WRITING WRITING. After the atmospheric let-down of Belzhar, this was like drinking water after being parched. Lockhart’s prose is flawless . Part poetry, part lyrical composition, part plain old human speaking. I want to dive in and drown. And drown  some more. And then be buried in the words once I’m gone.

Atmosphere was amazing. I want to live on that island, in a fictional way. As in, I just want to keep reading books set there. In Lockhart’s writing style. Please. Pretty please. That’s all I want.

And the characters. I’m so in love. With all four of them. From Cadence to Johnny to Mirren (my precious) and Gat, too. I can’t imagine anyone better to spend some time with than the Liars. I absolutely loved the complexity of all of them, and how consistent they were, and how full of life.

I read for characters. Every time. And these were good ones. Very, very good ones.

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

Spoilers beyond this point

This story was messed up. I’m not even going to try and say that I liked it, because I didn’t.

I’m noticing a slight trend either in not-contemporary Teen, or just in what I’m picking up recently. That trend is the “MC has amnesia, all of that story was a lie” trend.

I dislike it.

Cadence suffered a head injury and now suffers migraines and amnesia.

Or so we think.

This is a lie.

All those people you hung out with all summer?

Dead.

That’s right.

Weird, isn’t it? I wanted to like it so badly, but then…she stole it from me. I was given figments. Ghosts. But not real ghosts. The carpet of reality was pulled out from underneath my readerly self and replaced with something that was not real – or that was real, but shouldn’t have been real.

It was very disconcerting.

I’m still not a fan, and I finished this book a week ago.

Overall

  • Rating: 4/5 stars because I like to be generous and 3 ¾ is weird
  • Recommended to: Lovers of the lyrical prose that can handle a major reality change
  • Lasting impression: Folly, and the sweet smoke of summer.
One thought on “Book Review: We Were Liars

Leave a Reply

