The Lost Sun

Happy 2015, readers.

This Christmas, while browsing the signed books table at my local Barnes & Noble, I discovered Tessa Gratton. Really, I have known about her for almost as long as I’ve known about Maggie Stiefvater, since they are critique partners and friends. But never had I actually read any of her work. And so I received a signed paperback of The Lost Sun and quickly fell in love. Gratton, Stiefvater and Yovanoff have all now stolen my heart. It happens.

1e925efe4c5437598f2b1aeafecda658

The Lost Sun

US of Asgard

The Lost Sun

  • Author: Tessa Gratton
  • Publisher: Ember
  • Year: 2013
  • Shelved in: Teen Fantasy and Adventure
  • Genre vibe: Mythological fantasy, Adventure, coming of age, and a good old roadtrip story, believe it or not.
  • At a glance: Soren is a berserker. He doesn’t want to be. Astrid is a seer of sorts. The A in USA stands for Asgard. Baldur has gone missing. Adventure ensues.

The Good Stuff

I’m kind of in love with this book. I admit I was worried for a little while; things seemed from the synopsis like they could get a little too political or dystopian for my taste. But I was so pleasantly surprised it’s hard to even get across how pleasant the surprise was. I got a roadtrip adventure coming of age story featuring one of my favorite character types and probably one of the best relationships I’ll read all year.

And, you know, a heartbreaking bittersweet ending and a really cool world. Just in case all that wasn’t enough.

In addition, Gratton’s prose is stunning. It carries some of the same elemental qualities of Stiefvater and Yovanoff, kind of tempered with a little bit more of a  myth-like, storytelling vibe. Which is incredible, considering that the setting kind of calls for that.

I’m just kind of in love all around. It’s such a great book and I can’t believe I didn’t pay attention to it sooner. It carries the comforting quality of a roadtrip novel, and the familiarity of a coming of age story, all packed around with adventure, romance, sword fighting, and Norse gods.

I feel like I should be able to go on forever about this book, but I’d just be saying the same things over and over again for the most part. But it really is that good. I finished it a few days ago and I find myself loving it even more as time goes on.

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

Uh. . .

Nope.

When can I get to the bookstore for the next book?

Overall

  • Rating: 5/5 stars
  • Recommended to: Most people. You like really good romance? This book. Like things inspired by mythology? This book. Like roadtrip stories? This book. Like adventure? Like duels? Like heroes and gods? This. Book.
  • Lasting impression: Steadfast bravery, shoulders straight under a heavy burden, and the kind of loyalty forged between those going through something. Together.
One thought on “The Lost Sun

Leave a Reply

