Book Review: The Replacement

In the continued adventures of Discovering Stiefvater and Co., we have another Yovanoff novel. It’s unfair how good it is, really.

51yk5jmd-wl-_ss500_The Replacement

  • Author: Brenna Yovanoff
  • Publisher: Razor Bill
  • Year: 2010
  • Shelved in: Teen fantasy and adventure
  • Genre vibe: Changeling stories, faerie fiction, paranormal romance, small-town-creepiness, atmospheric
  • At a glance: Mackie is not one of us, but he’s in love with each and every one of us. Unfortunately he’s stubborn as all heck and loyal to a fault and will do whatever it takes to protect both sides. Really, he just wants to do what’s right, and avoid as many creepy faeries as possible.

The Good Stuff

I’m in love. With this book as a whole, with Yovanoff’s writing, with the world, with the story itself, with the theme. And of course Mackie.

I’m behind, and so it’s been a good while since I finished this book. But in that amount of time I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it, and that, to me, is one of the greatest marks of a good book ever. If it lives on, it’s worth more than gold.

This book was so enjoyable and so interesting and so emotionally gripping. I couldn’t put it down, and I still haven’t. I wrote down more quotes and snippets from this book than I have in a while. It was beautiful, to put it bluntly.

Not to mention it has all of my favorite things in it. Magic things that edge towards the dark and terrifying, a hero with a heart of gold and no self-esteem and a bigger portion of bitterness than he really needs. Super interesting settings (the Starlight Music Hall, anyone? Seriously the best thing ever.) and an even better atmosphere on the whole.

It’s not often I find a book with my favorite things in it. This is one of them, and it’s also Yovanoff’s first novel. I’m admitting right now that her other works (aside from Fiendish) have never captured my interest. But now I’m going to have to put that aside and read ALL the Yovanoff novels because, well. This was beautiful, and it filled a need in my reading life that’s been underfed for a long time.

Questions, comments, concerns?

Can I read it again? Right now?

Overall

  • Rating: 5/5 stars
  • Recommended to: fans of really good faeries, people who just love a good hero, people looking for something to fall in love with.
  • Lasting impression: that dusty, toxic, incredible concert hall, and Mackie’s blood on the ground.
Leave a Reply

