Murder on the Orient Express

The things you read for book club aren’t always bad, okay guys? Okay.

That said, I don’t have much to say about this book because…well, that’s why the review.

u34+1F!EVWH7ngw7NLVXIcKIKW2pmYA+Gl!w8rbMsYH!BRIAG5OUet9tcq9F2XjffXkZsjELHH1dotzfe59Az1jyGM+mB65M9iSYJGxO3RSWsW1OYzkgsRAdZgmVYczuMurder on the Orient Express

  • Author: Agatha Christie
  • Publisher: Harper Mystery
  • Year: 1934
  • Shelved in: Mystery
  • At a glance: A murder has occurred on the Orient Express. M. Hercule Poirot is going to solve it through extensive investigation. The catch is that everyone is snowed into the train.

I’m a fan of Christie. I loved And Then There Were None like no other, although Endless Night remains one of my favorite books of all time and I think about Murder is Easy all the time.

But if you know anything about those particular books you’ll notice that all of them are standalones. Which brings me to my major point of this review: I’m not a fan of Poirot. Granted, this is the first of his books that I’ve really seriously read, but I couldn’t get into any of the others I’ve picked up over the past couple years either.

This book…it was good, it was interesting, the crime was great. But it was…dull. There was interrogation after interrogation and that was just about it. I skimmed, found the evidence that was given, and moved on. There were maybe one or two characters that interested me, and Poirot just wasn’t one of them.

(And also M. Bouc just really annoyed me for some reason. I don’t get annoyed by characters often but I just didn’t like that guy.)

All in all, I just ended up wanting an Ocean’s Eleven-esque story from the criminals’ perspectives. Because that would’ve been awesome and a little less boring.

(And all that being said, I still can’t wait to read another Christie novel. Because I really do love her.)

Overall

  • Rating: 3/5 stars or so
  • Recommended to: If you’re one of those people who really likes to figure out the mystery–this one’s for you
  • Lasting impression: A very, very stuffy dining car and the undying smile of a young blond American.
Leave a Reply

