Empire of Night

My second anticipated read of the spring came out–the sequel to Sea of Shadows, one of my favorite new reads from last year.

I tried to forget, because there was no possible way I’d be able to read it for a while. Then I remembered that, oh, libraries get new books pretty quickly around here. So I got myself first on the holding list (I know, I know, amazing right) and waited with baited breath. . .

Only to be disappointed.

22754669Empire of Night

  • Author: Kelley Armstrong
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Year: 2015
  • Genre vibe: While the first book was very much supernatural fantasy, this one lost quite a bit of that supernatural aspect, and most of the fantasy aspect, and boiled down to “boring”.
  • At a glance: Moria decides to go out on…some quest that I’ve forgotten about. Moria and Ashyn get separated. Moria is more interested in Tyrus and romance and feminist statements than she is with the fact that her sister could be who knows where. Tyrus saves the day–and the book.

So I can sum up my feelings about this book pretty fast: wet cardboard.

That’s right, that’s all. What started out as a decent sequel to a book I really enjoyed just fell to little, soggy, easily dismantled pieces in my hands, and it felt kind of gross.

The first seventy pages or so were really good. I was excited to be back in the world, ready to dig my hands into some high fantasy for a while, happy to finally meet my beautiful bastard prince from the end of the last book, and things went well.

Then they all left for this quest of theirs and, well…wet cardboard.

The writing took a dive, the characters absolutely plummeted. Moria and Ashyn are the sisters to end all sisters, Keeper and Seeker, bound together. But upon being separated–neither girl ever really spares a thought for her counterpart. Moria is too preoccupied with being captured and romantically confused, and Ashyn becomes literally nothing but a pair of eyes through which to see. Guin’s story was much more important than Ashyn’s and that made me angry. Because I liked Ashyn. She deserved better.

I felt like a lot of Guin was unnecessary. Her story didn’t really make me sad; it just disappointed me further. There seemed to be a lot of statements, so to speak, in this book, that really didn’t need to be there. Women shouldn’t be mistreated–I got it. Can we move on? And maybe get to some character development?

Unfortunately, neither of those things happened. Even Tyrus, who was the one redeeming factor, didn’t seem to have any discernible arc. Nobody did, really. No one changed. Moria came to terms with her feelings for Tyrus (finally), but that was the long and short of it. There was no point A to point B. There was barely even a point A to begin with.

All in all, I was really disappointed, because I was super excited for this book and it just…let me down.

I don’t think I’ll be anticipating the last book in this particular trilogy. I can’t say that I’m too interested to see how it ends.

Overall

  • Rating: 2/5 stars
  • Recommended to: Nobody really.
  • Lasting impression: Still can’t get over that wet cardboard thing…
Leave a Reply

