Zac & Mia

Think back a couple of years. One or two. Think of a book that came out, a book you picked up and put on your mental “I should remember this and read it this year” TBR. Got it?

I have so many of those books that sometimes I try not to think about it. Zac & Mia was a book like that–I saw the cover and couldn’t forget it. Fast forward a couple of years, Half-Price Books…well, you can guess the rest.

I picked it up off my TBR shelf the other day and thought, “Why not now?”. I’m behind on my reading schedule, it’s been a long week. How about some contemporary? I wasn’t disappointed. Not in the least.

413L0hGv36L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Zac & Mia

  • Author: A. J. Betts
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Year: 2014 (2013 in Australia)
  • Genre vibe: Those Cancer Booksβ„’, but smaller, fuller, and more Other.
  • At a glance: There’s a newbie in the ward. Her first night, she plays her music so loud Zac’s not sure he’ll ever recover. Her name’s Mia, and my god will she turn things upside down.

I’m going to preface this with saying I haven’t read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, ME, EARL, AND THE DYING GIRL, or anything akin. Not for any particular reason, really. But something about the simplicity of Zac & Mia drew me, and I’m glad it did.

I don’t know how much I really have to say about this book. I devoured it. Zac is a certain, life-filled kind of character that you rarely find presented so effortlessly. Mia is a whirlwind. I even cared about literally all of the side characters, and some of them only had a few moments of page time.

This book is good. It’s well put together, it’s well written, it’s excellently populated. It’s thoughtful, it’s interesting. It’s a heck of a wild ride, and you don’t even expect it–or realize it, really, until it’s over.

It read like an adventure novel sometimes, with the added thrill of being set in Australia. And the funny thing is that there’s not much to say. There isn’t. And I don’t even feel like their ought to be–Zac & Mia was incredible, and it’s the kind of book that I’m simply glad to say that I read.

So overall:

  • Rating: 5/5 stars
  • Recommended to: People who love really good stories!
  • Lasting impression: The wheeling stars overhead, the smell of home, a warm bath and someone’s perfect arms for holding.
Leave a Reply

