Be Good Be Real Be Crazy

Some books are exceptions to even the strictest of rules.

  • Author: Chelsey Philpot
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Year: 2016
  • Genre vibe: Road trip + complicated romance
  • At a glance: Mia is Homer’s Anywhere Girl, and now she’s leaving. He offers to drive her to her new home, and his genius little brother gets included in the deal. Mishaps ensue and lots of quality moments are had.

Okay, here’s the deal: It’s gonna be super hard to talk about this book and not sound dry, and it’s gonna be super hard to give you a full-on review because of it. Here’s why.

Chelsey Philpot is a voice for the ages. The way she writes is like poetry. It’s the kind of wordsmith skill that you can’t even be inspired by; you’re too busy drowning in it. It’s storytelling bliss.

So, in light of knowing how lovely she is, none of this will suffice to talk truly about this book until you read it, because Chelsey’s are the only words that are right.

I participated in a self-imposed #5Books7Days challenge again this year, and though I weighed in just under 5 actual books, I’m pretty pleased with myself. BE GOOD BE REAL BE CRAZY was the first full book I finished. The journey of this book was a short one.

Begin: The week before Christmas, browsing my local B&N and realizing, “Holy shit, that’s Chelsey Philpot!

Middle: Christmas giftcard purchase #1.

End: #5Books7Days day 2, and the book has been thusly devoured.

This book is an exception to quite a few of my strictest book rules. There are certain things that are automatic turn offs to specific people–every reader has one or two, or a few. Some are more prominent than others, based upon just about anything. Mine usually just so happen to be teenaged pregnancy, and the end of the world. 

Things this book has? Teenaged pregnancy, and the end of the world. Come chapter five, I was asking myself, “are you going to be able to finish this? Will you end up hating it? Will it do something you just can’t excuse?” and I asked myself whether I wanted to quit while I was ahead or not. 

I kept reading. And I’m so, so glad that I did.  Because this book damn well blew me away, and while it may not have changed my mind about some of my least favorite tropes, it definitely proved to me that some books truly are exceptions. 

BE GOOD BE REAL BE CRAZY is a sprawling sort of novel that is also quite contained in its set of goals. A focused set of issues for each character is expanded upon, rather than a lot of issues being thrown at just a couple of people in a short amount of time. 

Because in the end, this book is really about just that: the people inside of it. Homer, Mia, Einstein, and the entirety of the supporting cast are all given full marks for fullness of character and all-around awesomeness. 

This book as kind of a whirlwind. I loved reading it and I love having it on my shelf, and that, I think, is the highest mark I can give a book, really. This is something you want in your brain. Philpot’s words are some ou want to carry around with you all the time. Guarantee it. 

So this book is: 

  • 5/5 stars
  • The smell of gasoline in the heat, the knowledge that you’re going somewhere, even if you’re not sure where it is, and it’s simple kinds of joys. Like a good book. 
  • For people that want a roadtrip and some deep thoughts and a beautiful, beautiful set of words. 
  • Name by the Goo Goo Dolls

 

Leave a Reply

